Chevrolet Wins 2013 IndyCar Series Manufacturers' Championship



The 2013 IZOD IndyCar Series was the 18th season of the IndyCar Series and the 102nd season of American open wheel racing. Its premier event was the 97th Indianapolis 500 held on Sunday, May 26. The 2013 season was the second to feature the Dallara DW12 chassis. Ryan Hunter-Reay entered the season as the defending drivers' champion. Chevrolet entered as the defending Manufacturers' Cup champion.

The 2013 season has featured four first-time winners, the most since 1965. Also highlighting the season is the introduction of doubleheader races, and the experimentation with standing starts at selected events. Heading into the final race of the season, two-time champion Scott Dixon led Hélio Castroneves by 25 points in a two driver fight for the championship. In a race where only nine drivers finished, Dixon finished fifth while Castroneves finished sixth, and as a result, Dixon won his third series title by 27 points. In the manufacturers' championship, Chevrolet defended their title ahead of Honda.

After Lotus decided to withdraw from IndyCar Series due to poor 2012 season, the 2013 season marks the first season since 2002 that the series would feature only two engine manufacturers.[1]

2013 was the final season that Izod—which became the main sponsor in the 2010 IndyCar Series—was the main sponsor of the championship; as Verizon Communications was announced as the new series sponsor for the 2014 season.

Rnd Date Race name Track Location 1 March 24 Honda Grand Prix of St. Petersburg[48] Streets of St. Petersburg  S  St. Petersburg, Florida

2 April 7 Honda Indy Grand Prix of Alabama[49] Barber Motorsports Park  R  Birmingham, Alabama

3 April 21 39th Toyota Grand Prix of Long Beach[50] Streets of Long Beach  S  Long Beach, California

4 May 5 Itaipava São Paulo Indy 300 presented by Nestlé[51] Streets of São Paulo  S  Brazil São Paulo, Brazil

5 May 26 97th Indianapolis 500-Mile Race Indianapolis Motor Speedway  O  Speedway, Indiana

6 June 1 Chevrolet Indy Dual in Detroit presented by Quicken Loans[52] Belle Isle  S  Detroit, Michigan

7 June 2 8 June

8 Firestone 550[53] Texas Motor Speedway  O  Fort Worth, Texas

9 June 15 Milwaukee IndyFest[54] Milwaukee Mile  O  West Allis, Wisconsin

10 June 23 Iowa Corn Indy 250 presented by DeKalb[55] Iowa Speedway  O  Newton, Iowa

11 July 7 Pocono IndyCar 400 fueled by Sunoco[56] Pocono Raceway  O  Long Pond, Pennsylvania

12 July 13 Honda Indy Toronto[57] Exhibition Place  S  Canada Toronto, Ontario

13 July 14

14 August 4 Honda Indy 200 at Mid-Ohio Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course  R  Lexington, Ohio

15 August 25 GoPro Indy Grand Prix of Sonoma Sonoma Raceway  R  Sonoma, California

16 September 1 Grand Prix of Baltimore Streets of Baltimore  S  Baltimore, Maryland

17 October 5 Shell and Pennzoil Grand Prix of Houston Reliant Park  S  Houston, Texas

18 October 6

19 October 19 MAVTV 500 IndyCar World Championships Auto Club Speedway  O  Fontana, California