Sunday, May 30, 2010

The 94th Indianapolis 500 was held on Sunday, May 30, 2010, at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway. It was the 15th Indy 500 sanctioned by the Indy Racing League, and was the premier event of the 2010 IZOD IndyCar Series season. The race was won by Dario Franchitti, ahead of Dan Wheldon and Marco Andretti. Tony Kanaan, who had started in the final position, ran as high as second during the race before finishing eleventh. It was the first Indy 500 to run the full 500-mile distance in a year divisible by 3 since 2001.

The race was the second of the three-year long Centennial era, celebrating the 100th anniversary of the opening of the Indianapolis Motor Speedway and the 100th anniversary of the first Indianapolis 500. It was the 53rd time the race had been held on a May 30. This year marked the first race with four female drivers (repeated in 2011), and Simona de Silvestro was awarded Rookie of the Year.

Starting grid

Will Power's #12 Verizon Wireless machine, in which he qualified in the middle of row 1.

Row Inside Middle Outside 1 3 Brazil Hélio Castroneves (W) 12 Australia Will Power 10 United Kingdom Dario Franchitti (W) 2 6 Australia Ryan Briscoe 77 Canada Alex Tagliani 9 New Zealand Scott Dixon (W) 3 30 United States Graham Rahal 20 United States Ed Carpenter 06 Japan Hideki Mutoh 4 99 United States Townsend Bell 22 United Kingdom Justin Wilson 2 Brazil Raphael Matos 5 32 Brazil Mario Moraes 21 United States Davey Hamilton 24 United Kingdom Mike Conway 6 26 United States Marco Andretti 37 United States Ryan Hunter-Reay 4 United Kingdom Dan Wheldon (W) 7 8 Venezuela E. J. Viso 23 South Africa Tomas Scheckter 25 Brazil Ana Beatriz (R) 8 78 Switzerland Simona de Silvestro (R) 7 United States Danica Patrick 36 Belgium Bertrand Baguette (R) 9 33 Brazil Bruno Junqueira 19 United Kingdom Alex Lloyd 34 Brazil Mario Romancini (R) 10 43 United States John Andretti 67 United States Sarah Fisher 14 Brazil Vitor Meira 11 5 Japan Takuma Sato (R) 29 Colombia Sebastian Saavedra (R) 11 Brazil Tony Kanaan

  • (W) = Former Indianapolis 500 winner